Leixlip GAA Golf Society

Matchplay 2017

Singles Matchplay 2017

  • Entry fee to play (€10, agreed at AGM)
  • All fees collected will be used to pay for a venue for the final, a meal for the finalists and prizes.
  • The H/C that applies for each round will be the Society H/C as applying at the time the draw is made for each round.
  • Matches will be played in accordance with the rules of golf for singles matchplay.
  • In accordance with CONGU recommendation’s the full difference between players handicaps will be allowed but the maximum handicap allowed is 28 for men.
  • Matches should be played as singles matchplay separately from outings. Any matches played in conjunction with an outing will be played in Stableford format (i.e. matchplay is not allowed).
    • The best total Stableford score for the round will win the match
    • In the event of a tie the winner will be decided by a count back in the usual way (B9, B6 etc). If still tied the winner will be decided by the toss of a coin.

Draw: Players are drawn randomly. As there were 11 participants 5 players got a bye (1st drawn) into the 2nd round (Quarter final) and 6 others play in a 1st round. The 1st name drawn has home advantage for that match and is obliged to make contact with his opponent and arrange the match. A separate draw will be made for each round. The venue for the final will be decided by the Society Committee.

Round 1. To be played by 17th June (Moyvalley Outing)Handicaps apply after Castleknock outing (29th Apr) Round 2. Quarger Final. Played by 21st July (Hermitage Outing)Handicaps apply after Athlone outing (26th May)
1.(Bye to R2)  Eddie Murphy 1. Sean O’Toole (home) V
2. (Bye to R2)  Sean O’Toole 2. Mick Cronin
3. (Bye to R2)  Sean Graham 3. Diarmaid Shinnors (home) V
4. (Bye  to R2)  Lorcan Shinnors 4. Eddie Murphy
5. (Bye to R2)   Diarmaid Shinnors 5. J McNamee/P J Forde (home) V
6. Eddie Prendergast (home) V 6. Sean Graham
7. Brendan Maher 7. E Prendergast/B Maher (home) V
8. Joe McNamee (home) V 8. Lorcan Shinnors
9. P J Forde
10. Mick Cronin (home) V
11.Billy Fox


Semi Final played by 26th Aug (Carton Hse). Handicaps apply after Hermitage Outing

Final played by 23rd Sept (Luttrelstown outing). Handicaps apply after Carton Hse outing)

Joe McNamee (Singles co-ordinator) Please report results to joemcnamee1@gmail.com or txt/whatsapp to 0876488690.





Joe McNamee


Diarmaid Shinnors

Brendan Maher


Mick Cronin


P J Forde

Sean O’Toole


Eddie Murphy


Billy Fox

Eddie Prendergast


Lorcan Shinnors


Sean Graham